New Stamps Honor Industrial Design Pioneers

July 19, 2011

Twelve of the nation’s most influential industrial designers from the 1930’s to the 1960’s are now being honored with a new set of stamps that highlight their most significant work. The collection, announced earlier this year, honor designers Peter Muller-Munk, Frederick Hurten Rhead, Raymond Loewy, Donald Deskey, Walter Dorwin Teague, Henry Dreyfuss, Norman Bel Geddes, Dave Chapman, Greta von Nessen, Eliot Noyes, Russel Wright, and Gilbert Rohde.

“Encompassing everything from furniture and electric kitchen appliances to corporate office buildings and passenger trains, the work of these designers defined the look of modern America, and in doing, revolutionized the way we live and work,” said Dean Granholm, Postal Service VP of delivery and post office operations.

Industrial design emerged as a profession in the United States in the 1920s, but flourished during the Great Depression. Faced with decreasing sales, manufacturers turned to industrial designers to give their products a modern look that would appeal to consumers. The designs evoked a sense of speed and efficiency and projected an image of progress and affluence.The groundbreaking work of industrial designers continued to transform the look of homes and offices across the country and today it remains an integral component of manufacturing and business.

Featured on each stamp is the designer’s name, a photograph of the product they created, as well as a description of what the product is. We really like the simple design and the use of color. You can purchase these stamps from USPS.

Up Down